Annual Awards

Each year, Wrexham Glyndwr Students’ Union hold their annual WGSU Awards. Awards are given to the players and teams that have not only demonstrated a strong performance throughout the competitive season, but who have demonstrated good organisation, interaction with the WGSU and actively been involved in raising money for charity. Winners of awards since it first being established are:

Team of the Year:
2016/17: Men’s Basketball 1st
2017/18: Men’s Football 1st
2018/19: Equestrian


Player of the Year: Male
2016/17: Anthony Smith - Men’s Football 1st
2017/18: Tom Bunclarke - Men’s Football 1st
2018/19: Ryan Harding - Men’s Football/Futsal


Player of the Year: Female
2016/17: Stephanie Jones - Netball 1st
2017/18: Elin Francis – Netball 
2018/19: Rachel Warrenger - Women’s Hockey


Coach of the Year:
2016/17: Kieran Irwin - Men’s Football 1st
2017/18: Kieran Irwin - Men’s Football 1st
2018/19: Chris Wharton - Men’s Rugby Union


Most Valuable Player:
2016/17: Kieran Jones - Men’s Rugby Union 1st
2017/18: Jamie Campbell - Men’s Rugby Union
2018/19: Tom Williamson - Men’s Hockey


Most Promising Newcomer:
2016/17: Ethan Prosser - Men’s Rugby Union 1st
2017/18: James Wheat - Men’s Football 1st
2018/19: Simon Thomet - Men’s Rugby Union


Company number: 10111959
Registered Charity: 1168132